Non-Proliferation Regime

Read Complete Research Material


Non-Proliferation Regime

Table of Contents



Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty3

Main Articles of the treaty4

Growing Concern6

Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR):8

Australia Group:9

Zangger Group:9

Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG):10

Global Situation10

Use of Technology11

Support for multilateral mechanisms in the field of nuclear fuel cycle14

International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation15

Support to the treaties on nuclear weapon-free zones16



The aim of the paper is to study in detail about Non-Proliferation Regime. The rationale behind discussing this issue is the fact that the treaty has failed to achieve its goal and the process of proliferation of nuclear weapons and nuclear materials. Even states who signed the treaty, are also involved in the spread of nuclear weapons and material breaching the treaty. The treaty have failed to achieve the goals and achieve the desired results. In this paper, we will discuss this fact.

Non-Proliferation Regime


The world faces a huge problem of international security due to the usual spread of nuclear weapons worldwide. The state and the military of a country both can use the nuclear technology, hence civilian and military nuclear operations cannot be separated. Therefore, there has been a growing interest from different countries to protect countries from wide spread of nuclear technology and destruction. They want to maintain a check on the spread of Nuclear weapons. Keeping this fact in mind, nuclear countries and other leading powers took an initiative to sign a treaty that controls the spread of nuclear technology and weapons known as Non-Proliferation Regime. However, it is important to note that the regime to control nuclear non-proliferation is seriously in question. It also leads to tension between different nations and countries as some are not willing to participate in such programs. This risk could also increase with the increase in civilian nuclear energy in many countries. Hence, the situation is alarming as the treaty as failed to stop states from spreading nuclear states.


Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty

The Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT, Nuclear Non Proliferation Treaty) is a treaty, which was opened for signature on July 1 of 1968. Only five states in the treaty have control of nuclear weapons that include, the United States (signatory in 1968), the United Kingdom (1968), France (1992), the Soviet Union (1968, now replaced by Russia) and the People's Republic of China (1992). The special status of these five countries is called nuclear-armed states (NWS or Nuclear Weapons States), and were the only states that had detonated a nuclear test until 1967. These countries are also the five permanent members of Security Council of United Nations.

Main Articles of the treaty

This treaty is based on three pillars: nonproliferation, disarmament and peaceful use of nuclear energy. In article I, nuclear-armed states (NWS) undertake not to transfer nuclear technology or nuclear weapons technology to other countries, or to assist in the development of such weapons under any circumstances. In article II, Armed non-nuclear states (NNWS) pledge not to seek the development of new nuclear weapons. Article III safeguards the regime of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA or International Atomic Energy Agency), which is the body of United Nations that ...
Related Ads