Africa Lagos (Nigeria)

Read Complete Research Material



Lagos (Nigeria)

Lagos is a port and the most popular Nigerian city. It is the largest urban zone in southwestern border of the Sahara Desert. It is also Africa's second largest city and seventh fastest growing city in the world. Lagos was Nigeria's financial and economic center in 1990 and was previously the capital of Nigeria, but in 1991 Abuja moved and became the judicial capital of the country. Lagos is a huge metropolitan area, with huge population distribution, and some coastal areas in southwest Nigeria offshore islands.

Previously in 1976, Lagos Island (Lagos Island, known locally as Eko), Ikoyi Island (Ikoyi), Victoria Island (Victoria Island) and some inland areas have been classified as "Lagos City" by pulling The Adams City Council (Lagos City Council) jurisdiction. In the 1976 City Council disbandment, Lagos was divided into several local government areas. In 1970 Nigeria experienced rapid economic growth, population growth, which resulted in the original number of towns around the city of Lagos to be able to develop as well to become today's Lagos metropolitan area.

Originally, Lagos was occupied by the Awori subgroup of the Yoruba People. The Awori moved to an island under the leadership of the Oloye Olofin which is now called Iddo and then towards the bigger Lagos Island. The settlement of Awori was attacked in the 15th century by the Benin Empire followed by a dispute, and the island turned into a war camp known as 'Eko' under the Oba of Benin “Oba Orhogba”.

Lagos is not only rich in agricultural products, but also rich in oil. The oil export revenues of Lagos provide more than 90% of the source of foreign exchange to Nigeria, as oil exports smoothly, according to the International Organization estimated oil production. It is a major contributor of Nigeria's oil which gives Nigeria a sustainable prosperity of 40 years. The government is taking steps to develop the infrastructure, the development of various industries in Lagos.

Physical Geography


Lagos metropolitan area terrain is very flat and swamp accounting a large portion of the urban area. There are two main geological formations structure, one is from the coastal plains of sand formed highlands; another by creeks, rivers forming a large area, covered with swamp and alluvial plain, covered in sand layer.


According to census figures of Nigeria, the official population of Lagos was 17.5 million in 2006. But according to the current estimation reports the population stands at 21 million, making Lagos Africa's largest city.


The original settlement of Lagos is surrounded a by a chain of islands including Victoria and Ikoyi island. Ikoyi is the most prosperous neighborhoods of Lagos, situated on Lagos Island. Ikoyi lies to the north-east of Obalende and cover half of the eastern island of Lagos and is situated at the edge of the Lagos lagoon. Victoria and Ikoyi, both islands are divided by a man made canal. They are encircled to the north by Surulere, Ebute Metta, and Yaba, three mainland suburbs that are home to Army Ordinance Depot and workshops of ...
Related Ads